Sharon forced to postpone 2015 opener from April 25 to May 2

By Mike Leone

April 22, 2015

(Hartford, OH)…Lasting effects from the cold, wet winter that has carried into the early spring has forced Sharon Speedway to postpone its 2015 season opener scheduled for this Saturday, April 25 to Saturday, May 2. The 86th anniversary season opener will feature the Hovis Auto & Truck Supply DIRTcar Big-Block Modifieds, Summit Racing Equipment Modifieds, Weller Hughes General Contracting & Developing RUSH Sportsman Modifieds, Gibson Insurance Agency Stock Cars, HTMA/Precise Racing Products Econo Mods, and the Deforest Used Parts Mini Stocks.

“We want to open under optimal conditions for both the racers and fans,” stated sixth year General Manager Dave Willoughby. “With the continual wet weather, we just haven’t been able to get on the track and begin preparing the new surface that was laid down last fall. Our grandstand parking areas are also very wet and soft, and with wet and cold weather predicted the next couple days, we’re just not going to be able to make it happen on Saturday.”

On May 2, pits open at 4 p.m. with grandstands at 5, drivers meeting at 6:15, warm-ups at 6:30, and group qualifying at 7. Grandstand admission for those 14 and over is just $ 10, while kids 13 and under are free. Pit passes are $ 30. There is no registration fee for the racers. Parking is always free. Reminder that coolers are not permitted to be brought into the grandstands. Drivers are reminded to send in the 2015 registration form, which is no charge this season.

Sharon Speedway is owned by the Blaney, Weller, and Kirila Families and is a 3/8-mile dirt track located on Custer-Orangeville Road in Hartford, Ohio near the intersection of Routes 7 & 305. For more information, check out the website at or call 330-772-5481. Become a fan of Sharon Speedway on Facebook at and follow us on Twitter at


Sharon Speedway

PLEASE COMPLETE 2015 Driver Registration Form

Opening night is fast approaching on Saturday, April 25. And while Sharon has eliminated the annual registration fee, YOU MUST COMPLETE THE 2015 REGISTRATION FORM! We ask that you complete and mail in ASAP no matter how many times you plan on competing in 2015. This saves time on your initial appearance.


2015 Annual Registration Form

Sharon Speedway

Roving Announcer & 50/50 Ticket Sellers Needed

We are needing to fill the following positions on a weekly Saturday night basis in 2015:

Roving Announcer: Must have racing knowledge and some experience in announcing. Person would interact with fans and racers and work with our main announcer, Jim Pollock.

Girls interested in selling 50/50 tickets

If interested, please call the track office at 330-772-5481 or e-mail

Sharon Speedway

Powered by WordPress | Designed by: MMO | Thanks to MMORPG List, Video Game Soundtracks and Website Hosting